The Mission of the Legacy Museum of African American History is to enrich the lives of local residents and museum visitors by fostering and stimulating an appreciation of the diversity of the African American experience in Lynchburg and surrounding counties/cities.

The Legacy Project, Inc. will achieve this mission by presenting oral history, artifacts and memorabilia through exhibitions, programs, workshops, and lectures that represent the achievements of African Americans.


The Legacy Project was initially sponsored by the Lynchburg branch of the NAACP. It became incorporated with 501(c)(3) non-profit status in 1995. In keeping with its mission to provide educational exhibits and programs on the history and culture of African Americans in the area, the Legacy Project sponsored lectures and panel discussions and arranged exhibits of Ann van de Graaf’s painting. “Lord Plant My Feet on Higher Ground.” The painting, which now hangs in the stairwell of the museum, depicts local persons and places associated with Civil Rights events in the 1960s and 70s. (Read on)

Board Members


  William H. Jones, Jr.

Vice President

  Dr. Kelley Deetz

Recording Secretary

  Famiko Radile

Corresponding Secretary

  Joyce Dixon


  Joseph A. Berryman


  Ramona Battle

  Virginia Bowman

  Valeria P. Chambers

  Cynthia K. Hall

  Claudette Haskins

  Megan Martin

  Violet Mitchell

  Phyllistine Mosley

  James H. Mundy

  Donald Preston

  Stan Webb

Administrator/Office Manager

    Nina Polley

Grant/Social Media Coordinator

   Talea D. Teasley


Comments are closed.